Your Reptile and Amphibian Resource and Information Site

Back to Tree Frogs Forum   Forums   Home   Members Area  

Tree Frogs Forum

Chett2001   Xpantherx   Mampam   Froggy&Gribbit   Hoppy   Chett2001   Hoppy   Chett2001   Dericka   Froggy&Gribbit   Reptile King77   C-mack   Whitie   Chett2001   Reptile King77   Hoppy  
 Member  Message

Chett2001
View Profile

Mealworm Beetles

Hey all,

Ive been feeding my tree frogs large mealworms for a couple of months and whilst doing this some didnt get eaten and remained in the tank, over time they changed into mealworm beetles, my question is.. Are these safe for the frogs to eat? they give off a stink when they are scared (and probably when being eaten) so i just wanted to check if anyone has any info on them.

I figured that they should be ok, since it would be silly them being sold as food and the beetles being dangerous to the frogs. I just redone my tank (doing a new fancy background) so ive taken all of them out just incase. Im probably going to start feeding them in a secure environment from now on since the plants are getting wreaked mealworms/crickets :/

Look forward to your responses,

Chett

10/03/07  03:10pm

Xpantherx
View Profile

Message To: Chett2001   In reference to Message Id: 1466247

Mealworm Beetles

Not in high quantities. They lose all nutritional value, although mealworms really don’t have that much, and can cause impaction via their hard exoskeleton. A few should be fine, if accidentally ingested, but I wouldn’t recommend feeding them as a staple.

~k

10/03/07  07:30pm

Mampam
View Profile

Mealworm Beetles

can o worms are good though

ive stick fed mine can o crickets and can o worms
and he eats

10/03/07  09:55pm

Froggy&Gribbit
View Profile

Message To: Mampam   In reference to Message Id: 1466683

Mealworm Beetles